Revelations and Deprestons

“If you’ve got a spare half a million, you could knock it down and start rebuilding.” – Courtney Barnett, “Depreston”

At the end of every summer, I seem to have some sort of revelation. As I dread the upcoming barrel of the long, cold months ahead, I think to myself that just because the weather isn’t warm and perfect, it can’t be all that bad. The Fall’s cool, right? I mean, it’s got like football… and stuff. I guess that’s cool. There’s almost a full year until the weather warms up again, and this means, at least to me, that there’s a lot of opportunity ahead; opportunity to do something with your mundane life. What’s my opportunity, you ask? What’s my AMAZING revelation? I’ll tell you what it is: I want to be more creative. I want to make more music, play more music for people to here. Music means a lot to me. I don’t want to lose it and become some poor old slob who watches reruns of Everybody Loves Raymond every afternoon.

As a part of being more creative, I also realize that I need to write on here more. I want to write more. I miss it. It’s been about a year since my life moved from my cozy parents’ house in New Jersey to a more independent way of living in debt down in Philadelphia. Somewhere along the way, I forgot about how much I love to express my thoughts in writing. There’s so much I want to say; so many wise-cracks to make! So much music to share! So much complaining about the Rangers to vent!

So, after a long year of getting my new life together and balanced, I really want to get back into sharing my word diarrhea with you. Doesn’t that sound great? Diarrhea: the gift that keeps on giving!

On that note, time to start rebuilding. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

