2014 Songs of the Summer

Do you like summer? Of course you do, because you’re not a crazy person! This year, we New Yorkers endured a hellish, nut-numbing winter because we’re too stupid to move to like Florida or something. BUT WHAT WOULD WE DO WITHOUT DA PURDY SNOW?!!!! Oh I don’t know, maybe work at Disney World then sit outside and drink Corona’s all day in the middle of January. Duh!

Thankfully, it’s June, so it’s high time to get outside, burn your skin off, and jump in that shark-infested ocean for a bit. The summer’s finally here… we did it! Well done, everybody. Of course, it wouldn’t be summer without some sweet tunes to go along with it. You know, the kind of songs you’d play at a BBQ as you try to drown out those annoying neighbor kids who are either playing tag or getting brutally murdered next door. Or maybe, these are the songs you blast in your car on your way down to the shore, until you get stuck in traffic and maybe you should turn it down a little because the guy in the white van next to you looks a little angry.

However you may listen, summer songs are important because they’re going to forever remind you of a particular year’s summer fun. I mean, tell me you don’t smell sunscreen whenever you hear “Steal My Sunshine.” Oh, just me? Anyway, it’s all about good times and good vibes maaaan. Last year, for me, the song of the summer was a tie between “Get Lucky” and “Blurred Lines” (thanks Pharrell!), and if it were up to me, these would be the songs of the summer EVERY year. But alas, out with the old and in with the new, right?

So, without further ado, below is a playlist of songs released since Labor Day 2013 that just got that summery feel to them, and I think they’ll bode well in the heat. Put your shades on, lather that sunscreen on your ghostly pale body, crack open a cold one, and turn the music up!

Feel free to complain/praise in the comments. TURN DOWN FOR WHAT!

(Writer’s note: I was so tempted to include “Latch” by Disclosure feat. Sam Smith on here, because I really hope it makes it big this summer in the mainstream, but that song came out like 2 years ago, so I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Think of it as an honorable mention, I guess.)

(Also, damn right I made a playlist with both Justin Timberlake and Fucked Up in it! Wanna fight about it?!)

One more thing: the following song is not available on Spotify, but it damn well better make your summer playlist. Why? Because I said so!

That Sunday Barrel’s 2014 Songs of the Summer

 

Leave a Reply

