R.I.P. Benjamin Curtis

As Stereogum has reported, Benjamin Curtis, guitarist and producer of School of Seven Bells, has passed away today after a year long battle with cancer. He was 35 years old.

I know it comes across as really lame and perhaps narcissistic when people make other people’s deaths about them, but I assure you that I have no selfish intentions here. I just wanted to say that “ILU” by School of Seven Bells is one of my favorite songs ever. It’s so beautiful and so profound, and I may have cried to it once (don’t judge). For whatever reason, that song struck a chord in my heart, and I know I have Benjamin Curtis to thank for that feeling I get whenever I hear “ILU”. Even for just this little reason alone, he has succeeded as a musician and as a person.

If you haven’t heard the song, you might think I’m being hyperbolic, and if that’s the case, go have a listen right now… you’ll see what I mean:

I remember seeing the band play it on Fallon and it was one of the best performances I’ve ever seen. Curtis and his gorgeous guitar tone stole the show. I wish I could find that damn video.

Leave a Reply

